Skip Navigation

(614) 652-3920 | Admin & Fire Department

Group photo of Special Operations

Special Operations

Washington Township Fire Department are members of Special Operations Teams in Ohio: Central Ohio Strike Team, Northwest Area Strike Team, and Ohio Task Force One.

Central Ohio Strike Team

The Washington Township Fire Department has committed members to serve on the Central Ohio Strike Team, one of Ohio’s five regional teams trained to respond in the event of a large-scale disaster (natural and man-made). This was done as part of the Ohio Fire Service Emergency Response Plan. Initiated shortly after the September 11 attack, the team is comprised of firefighters from every department in Franklin County who train on technical rescue issues, including structural collapse, confined space rescue, trench rescue, rope rescues and auto/machinery extrication. The team also provides urban search and rescue services throughout Central Ohio through the Franklin County Emergency Management Agency and each mutual aid agreement.

Northwest Area Strike Team

The Washington Township Fire Division are members of the Northwest Area Strike Team (NAS-T). They have the ability to respond to local as well as regional emergencies through the Ohio Fire Chief’s Response Plan. The team’s resources and expertise can also be called upon to assist other agencies throughout the county and State. In fact, NAS-T’s effectiveness has resulted in significant funding through the Franklin County EMA.

Ohio Task Force One

The Washington Township Fire Department is a member of the Ohio Task Force One Urban Search and Rescue team (OH-TF1). OH-TF1 is based in Dayton, Ohio and proudly serves our state and nation as one of its top urban search and rescue teams. Ohio Task Force One has 215 team members representing 72 agencies across the state.